According to the information received from Take CrunchThe new Repost button is in the Share menu, where you can send the video to friends via messages, text messages, or social media posts elsewhere. Except instead of sharing the video directly with friends, the “Repost” button promotes the video to your friends on TikTok.
But unlike a Twitter retweet, the retweeted video will not appear on your TikTok profile – it only sends the video to your friends’ For You feeds.
Also according to the post, the button is also not available to all TikTok users. For example, if you find a video through the Discover page or in a friend’s post’s TikTok mailbox, you won’t see the Repost button. It only appears in the videos you find when browsing your For You feed in the app, we confirm.
In other words, it’s a way to increase the visibility of a video you’ve already recommended through algorithms and now want to see more people. However, it doesn’t require users to create their own videos to achieve this – merging the original or duplicating content, which is what users re-share their videos today.
This provides a way for users to interact with and share TikTok videos again and can encourage more passive users to participate in the platform.
“Friendly zombie fanatic. Analyst. Coffee buff. Professional music specialist. Communicator.”