BOB fm - You'll hear all sorts of stuff

Listen Live

The Bob Mob

Join the BOB Mob!

The "World's oldest supermodel" is among the many Hertfordshire residents to be named in the New Year Honours list.

90-year-old Daphne Selfe from Baldock has been awarded a British Empire Medal for services to Women and Fashion. Daphne, who was born in July 1928 told reporters earlier this year "I don't do retiring!"

Also recognised is Stevenage-based William Bryden, who is Head of Scenes of Crime for the British Transport Police. He receives an OBE for services to Policing.

King's Langley resident Samantha Perahia - Head of Production UK for the British Film Commission - has been honoured for services to the Film and Television Industry.

Here is the full list of Hertfordshire residents who are receiving New Year Honours:


Anthony Martin Charles. For services to the community in Datchworth, Hertfordshire. (Datchworth, Hertfordshire)

Michael George Eldridge. For services to Football in Tring.  (Tring, Hertfordshire)

Steven Floris Frank. For services to Holocaust Education. (Chorleywood, Hertfordshire)

Cdr Michael Goldthorpe. RN. Chief executive officer, Association of Royal Navy Officers. For services to Naval Personnel. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)

Christine Victoria Kell. For services to the community in Hitchin, Hertfordshire. (Buntingford, Hertfordshire)

Robert John McCarthy. For services to the Environment and the community in Hoddesdon. (Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire)

Andrew Charles De Winton Morton. For services to the community in Kimpton Hertfordshire. (Kimpton, Hertfordshire)

Ian Martin Pittaway. Chairman, The Robert Clack Development Trust. For services to the community in the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham. (St Albans, Hertfordshire)

Daphne Frances Selfe. Model. For services to Women and Fashion. (Baldock, Hertfordshire)

Archibald Frederick Smith. For services to the Royal National Lifeboat Institution. (Hertfordshire)

  • CB

Myfanwy Barrett. For parliamentary service. (Chorleywood, Hertfordshire)

  • CBE

Roy Rickhuss. General secretary. Community Union. For services to the Steel Industry. (Hertfordshire)

  • OBE

William Bryden. Head of Scenes of Crime, British Transport Police. For services to Policing. (Stevenage, Hertfordshire)

Ming Wai Kong. Senior Lawyer, Government Legal Department. For services to Energy Policy. (Hertfordshire)

  • MBE

Riaz Alidina. Head of Financial Institutions Business Risk, Lloyds Banking Group. For services to Small Business Banking. (Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire)

David Berglas. For services to Magic and to Psychology. (Barnet, Hertfordshire)

Richard Bristow. For services to Transport and to the community in London. (Cheshunt, Hertfordshire)

Gopal Krishan Gupta. Founder and Solicitor, Gupta and Partners, and Founder, Gupta Group. For services to British Business and to Philanthropy. (Moor Park, Hertfordshire)

Richard Paul Hill. For services to Disability Cricket. (Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire)

Anthony Stephen Joy. Senior Intelligence Analyst, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to Policing. (Hertfordshire)

Dr Julia Rose Magill. For services to Education. (Royston, Hertfordshire)

Samantha Perahia. Head of Production UK, British Film Commission. For services to the Film and Television Industry. (Kings Langley, Hertfordshire)

More from Local News

Here's some stuff
we've played...

Turn Your Know To BOB - Listen on Digital Radio